welcome to this christian website

Jan 29th – 2017

 ernest kitchen

Rev. E. Anderson

WELCOME TO THIS CHRISTIAN WEBSITE

 

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Thought for the Day follows an instructive theme for everyday of the Week. We now turn our thoughts to another important factor if there is to be positive dealing with God. The word is ‘peace’, a spiritual reality to be entered into if one is to know and extract the best from life.

PEACE – A Great Experience – Genesis 3

Our first parents, Adam an Eve, knew what it was to experience and enjoy this in their initial life encounters with God their great Creator and Friend. He had special and warm contact with them right at the outset and desired it to continue and grow. Two things were their delightful lot: to know real peace with God as nothing stood between them in any way to hinder close fellowship and exchanges. Then there was the extra blessing of the peace of God which was to save them from all restless worry and anxiety. They could trust Him to deal with their well-being and future. There was all to live for!

Unfortunately they lost these two wonderful boons: peace with and the peace of God when they allowed sin to move in and dictate the scene. Satan, the evil disturber, came to rob them of such priceless possession. In one moment of folly and stupidity they listened and hearkened to his voice and direction and so everything went wrong for these creatures and subsequently the human race. Where sin is you can guarantee there are all kinds of unrest an conflicts!

Thankfully, God has ever been interested in restoring the accord and in a wise and wonderful manner He made it possible for these two benefits to be restored.  Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace, came on a mission from heaven to unite God and Man in sacred accord. He died as the Sin-Offering for all men, making it possible for God to forgive men in a righteous manner and then He rose again from the dead an so to come into each life that will receive Him. So He brings God and man together in sweet accord, in fact into a better relationship than Adam an Eve knew at the outset. Today you can have peace with God and the peace of God in your life with all of their advantages.

SACRED SONGS

I am So Glad that Jesus Loves Me

This is possibly the first hymn that we ever learned an has been permanently recorded in our minds an hearts. It is the greatest truth of all that is the inspiration of life and living. Just to know, above all, that God loves you, (yes, warts and all), is a commendable truth to be valued. Let it ring out from your heart and lips today and be assured that you are under His safe  keeping.

Dr. P.P. Bliss, the evangelistic singer and composer, said that he wrote the sacred song, “I am So Glad that Jesus Loves Me,” when he was a young man.

Growing older, however, he realized more deeply how insignificant is our love toward God compared to His love for us.

Hence, in his later years, he wrote that appealing hymn, which children so love to sing—and which is good for grownups too:

1/. I am so glad that our Father in heav’n Tells of His love in the Book He has giv’n;
Wonderful things in the Bible I see: This is the dearest, that Jesus loves me.

Refrain

I am so glad that Jesus loves me,  Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me;
I am so glad that Jesus loves me,   Jesus loves even me.

2/. Jesus loves me and I know I love Him; love sent Him own my lost soul to redeem,

Yes, it was love made Him die on the tree: oh, I am certain that Jesus loves me.

Refrain

3/. In this assurance I find sweetest rest, Trusting in Jesus I know I am blest;

Satan dismayed from my soul doth flee When I just tell him that Jesus loves me.

4/. Oh, if there’s only one song I can sing, When in His beauty I see the great King,
This shall my song in eternity be: “Oh, what a wonder that Jesus loves me”.

Refrain

5/. If one should ask of me, how can I tell? Glory to Jesus, I know very well!

God’ Holy Spirit with mine doth agree, Constantly witnessing – Jesus loves me.

QUOTES TO NOTE – attitude

I believe if you keep your faith, you keep your trust, you keep the right attitude, if you’re grateful, you’ll see God open up new doors – Joel Osteen

DAILY MEDITATIONS

A SAFE REFUGE – Psalm 6

It is helpful to know where to retreat to when situations are overpowering and overbearing. Here we are informed as to what David did when he was overwhelmed – v2 “lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” David recognized the dreadful circumstances he was in and the need to find somewhere where he could experience safety and security. The dictionary defines ‘overwhelm as ‘to overpower the thoughts, emotions or senses of; to overcome with irresistible force; to cover over or bury completely; to weigh or rest upon overpoweringly.’ Each reveals the idea of being submerged and subjugated by factors of a negative order.

The psalmist knew someone who was never overwhelmed and that if he resorted to take refuge under His covering he would be okay. There was the real discovery that the Lord alone was the real rock or cave of safety. To put it in another way as he does: to find shelter under the covert of His supreme wings. Just as a chick finds repose under its mother’s feathers so it is possible to know relief and assurance resting beneath the covering of God’s Almighty wings. He is never overwhelmed by anyone or anything and provides adequate protection for all.

At this hour things may seem to be on top of you seeking to completely crush and destroy. It is just the time to make haste to the One who cares about your well being. He has the capacity to take care of you and all that would overwhelm. Why not discover through this experience that He is capable and willing to deal with all that is endeavouring to humiliate you? Now is your opportunity to prove Him.

path

 

 

Leave a Reply

