welcome to this christian website

Dec 11th – 2016

 ernest kitchen

Rev. E. Anderson

WELCOME TO THIS CHRISTIAN WEBSITE

DAILY MESSAGE

It is now time, in spite of the difficult days, to move into the realm of spiritual authority and to begin to wage warfare against the evil forces that are set in array against the Christian Church and mankind. Do not fall victim to Evil One or evil, but rise, quickened and empowered by your Lord to engage in conflict through prayer, believing on the promises of God and experiencing the indwelling presence and power of the Spirit of God. The word to you is “To be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might” – (Eph 6:10) and through such a mantling be sufficient to render devastating blows to the kingdom of darkness. You must begin to prove your worth and weight and move in to claim possession and inherit all that has been won for you by Christ. As you look to Him as your Leader, He will not only lead the way, all the provisions required for victory are at your disposal. So, today, begin to make the progress heaven has determined.

SACRED SONGS

I Shall Know Him

I will give her own account of how she became so. She said: “When I was six weeks old a slight cold caused inflammation of the eyes. Our usual doctor was away from home, so a stranger was called in. He recommended the use of hot poultices, which practically destroyed my sight. When this sad calamity became known, the unfortunate man thought it best to leave the neighbourhood, and we never heard of him again.”

“But,” she added, “I have not, for a moment, in more than eighty-five years, felt a spark of resentment against him; for I have always believed that the good Lord, in His infinite mercy, by this means consecrated me to the work that I am still permitted to do. When I remember how I have been blessed, how can I repine?” What a marvellous illustration we have here of the way in which God can enable us to rise above our trials, and can “make all things work together for good to those who love Him.”

Fanny Crosby resolved when she was quite a child that her blindness should not make her unhappy, or prevent her from being useful in the world; she never allowed those around her to pity her because she was blind. She wrote: “Darkness may throw a shadow over my outer vision, but there is no cloud that can keep the sunlight of hope from a trustful soul. One of the earliest resolves that I formed in my young and joyous heart was to leave all care to yesterday, and to believe that the morrow would bring its own peculiar joy.”

A melody was given to me by Mr. John R. Sweeney, and he requested me,” says Fanny Crosby, “to write something ‘tender and pathetic.’ I prayed that appropriate words might be given me for his music; and the train of thought led me to the sweet consciousness that I shall know my Saviour ‘by the print of the nails in His hand.'”

1/. When my life work is ended, and I cross the swelling tide,When the bright and glorious morning I shall see;
I shall know my Redeemer when I reach the other side. And His smile will be the first to welcome me.

Chorus.
I shall know Him, I shall know Him, When redeemed by His side I shall stand;
I shall know Him, I shall know Him, By the print of the nails in His hand.”

2/. Oh, the soul-thrilling rapture when I view His blessed Face, And the lustre of His kindly beaming eye;
How my full heart will praise Him for the mercy, love, and grace, That prepares for me a mansion in the sky – Chorus.

3/. Oh the dear ones in glory how they beckon me to come! And our parting at the river I recall:
To the sweet vales of Eden they will sing my welcome home: But I long to meet my Saviour first of all.
Chorus

4/. Thro’ the gates of the city, in a robe of spotless white, He will lead me where no tears will ever fall;
In the glad song of ages I shall mingle with delight But I long to meet my Saviour first of all.
Chorus.

It is interesting to know that our sweet poetess Frances Ridley Havergal, and Fanny Crosby wrote to one another during the last seven years of Miss Havergal’s life. In answer to an inquiry about “Fanny Crosby,” her friend, Mr. Wm. F. Sherwin, wrote to Miss Havergal, saying, “She is a blind lady, whose heart can see splendidly in the sunshine of God’s love.” Miss Havergal was deeply touched by this reply, and wrote Fanny Crosby the following beautiful lines:

“Sweet blind singer over the sea, Tuneful and jubilant, how can it be
That the songs of gladness, which float so far, As if they fall from an evening star,
Are the notes of one who may never see Visible music of flower and tree?…
How can she sing in the dark like this? What is her fountain of light and bliss?…

Her heart can see, her heart can see! Well may she sing so joyously!
For the King Himself, in His tender grace, Hath shown her the brightness of His face…

QUOTES TO NOTE – CHRISTMAS

Christmas is a season not only of rejoicing but of reflection – Winston Churchill

DAILY MEDITATIONS

EFFECTUAL PRAYING – 1 Kings 18: 41-46; James 5: 16-18

James informs us that Elijah was a man who knew how to pray fervently and effectually in his day. It is apparent from his praying that he asked for big things: first, to restrain the heavens from giving rain; then secondly to send fire on the sacrifice; and thirdly for the heavens to be opened and rain to fall again.  The Lord responded to his petitions.  The encouraging thing in the third instance, he prayed seven times thus showing persistency. He only prayed once for the fire and it came but in this issue there had to be a going again and again in a believing mind and mood until he knew he had got through.

What he got the seventh time was a small, significant token which was enough for this man of faith. He saw in that small sign that it was the forerunner of a tremendous outpouring of rain. Within a very short while the heavens became black and everyone had to hurry back to their homes, even the king, because of what was to occur. The effectual prayer brought into being a cloud that was the prophetic witness of a real, natural blessing on the land.  He didn’t need any more confirmation. Sure enough it happened.

It is essential that every Christian believer knows and evidences the power of prayer. Faith, fervency, persistency and consistency are what makes prayer powerful. There is a need to see that these vital elements are present. What God did for this ancient prophet He wants to bring about in your life. Learn the life of prayer and when the seeming insignificant occurs, recognise that God is in such giving a vital token of the bigger thing that is to take place. Prayer is to become an exciting programme in your schedule so that you will see God’s hand of grace and power.

path

Leave a Reply

