welcome to this christian website

Nov 12th – 2016

 ernest kitchen

Rev. E. Anderson

WELCOME TO THIS CHRISTIAN WEBSITE

DAILY MESSAGE

There are occasions when you have need to take an honest and overall look at your life and doings, to note whether you are accomplishing your best for Christ. Do not simply accept the daily status quo but appraise yourself and works before the Lord, what you are engaged in and observe whether you are doing it in the way He desires. To note whether you are attaining His great plans for your earthly ministry and pilgrimage. Do not adjudge by your own ideas or even by your close friends opinions, helpful as they can be. It is priority to know how the Lord assesses you present state and progress and to have further input and guidance from Him. Time is running out for all and it is imperative to be committed to knowing Him and doing what He has designed. Nothing could be better now or in the final judgment.

SACRED SONGS

Jesus I am Resting

This hymn has been a constant inspiration in my Christian life and experience. I have discovered that not only do I find rest in and through Him, He is my REST. Simply trusting Him is the secret of peace and power.

Jean Sophia Pigott wrote the poem, “Jesus, I Am Resting, Resting,” that became J. Hudson Taylor’s favorite hymn. Taylor was an eminent missionary to China. Often, taking a break from his busy schedule, Taylor would sit at his reed organ and sing the hymn.

Taylor had formed the China Inland Mission in 1865, to evangelize China – the greatest mission vision since the days of St. Paul the Apostle. Yet, the work almost got the best of him. Taylor was overwhelmed with worry and work, and near a breakdown, when he got a letter from another missionary, John McCarthy. McCarthy wrote from John 15 on abiding in Christ: Abiding, not striving or struggling, looking off unto Him; trusting him for present power…. This is not new, and yet ’tis new to me. … Christ literally all seems to me now the power, the only power for service; the only ground for unchanging joy.

Taylor read the letter at his mission station on Saturday, September 4, 1869. He recalled, “As I read, I saw it all. I looked to Jesus, and when I saw, oh how the joy flowed!”

Later, he wrote to his sister in England, noting the changes that had happened within him: As to work, mine was never so plentiful, so responsible, or so difficult; but the weight and strain are all gone. The last month or more has been perhaps the happiest of my life, and I long to tell you a little of what the Lord has done for my soul. … [W]hen the agony of soul was at its height, a sentence in a letter from dear McCarthy was used to remove the scales from my eyes, and the Spirit of God revealed the truth of our oneness with Jesus as I had never known it before. McCarthy, who had been much exercised by the same sense of failure, but saw the light before I did, wrote: “But how to get faith strengthened? Not by striving after faith but by resting on the Faithful One.”

As I read, I saw it all!. … As I thought of the Vine and the branches, what light the blessed Spirit poured into my soul!”

Jesus, I am resting, resting In the joy of what thou art; I am finding out the greatness
Of thy loving heart. Thou hast bid me gaze upon thee, As thy beauty fills my soul,
For by thy transforming power, Thou hast made me whole.

Refrain

Jesus, I am resting, resting In the joy of what thou art; I am finding out the greatness Of thy loving heart.

O how great thy lovingkindness, Vaster, broader than the sea! O how marvellous thy goodness
Lavished all on me! Yes, I rest in thee, Beloved, Know what wealth of grace is thine,
Know thy certainty of promise And have made it mine – Refrain

Simply trusting thee, Lord Jesus I behold thee as thou art, And thy love, so pure, so changeless,
Satisfies my heart; Satisfies its deepest longings, Meets, supplies its every need,
Compasseth me round with blessings: Thine is love indeed – Refrain

Ever lift thy face upon me As I work and wait for thee; Resting ‘neath thy smile, Lord Jesus,
Earth’s dark shadows flee. Brightness of my Father’s glory, Sunshine of my Father’s face,
Keep me ever trusting, resting, Fill me with thy grace – Refrain.

QUOTES TO NOTE – CHANGE

If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change – Wayne Dyer

DAILY MEDITATIONS

THE CRY FOR HELP – Matthew 20: 29-34

The Lord had stated that He had come to minister and serve and here He is involved with two blind men and their desperate need. Twice it is stated that they cried out for help and they were not put off by the restraint of the crowd. They sincerely believed they could and would receive an act of loving kindness from Christ. He was in the business above all in showing mercy because compassion ruled His being. It was His utter commitment to bring relief to those who required it and it is worthy of note: He heard their cry.

In asking the question Jesus was simply provoking and promoting their faith and quest. “What do you really want Me to do for you? was His demand. No sooner had they voiced it than He touched their eyes and gave them their sight. They found in Him not only His ability but also the depth of kindness and mercy. They would be forever grateful that they ever called out and discovered that He could answer in a positive manner. They must have been glad that they did not allow the crowd to put them off but revealed their determination to get the attention of Christ.

It could well be that you require the ears of Christ amid your crisis condition. There is the demand on your part to address Christ as He passes your way today and you need to make your pressing appeal. Do not be afraid to be urgent and persistent in your request or to express your faith in His love and power. On your life’s road today He wants to show His grace and goodness so that He will leave you with a testimony of His healing and deliverance. Be certain of this: He is able to both hear your cry for help and to give an immediate remedy for your need.

path

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

