womens’ page

sophimaclachlan

Sophia McLachlan

WHY, I BELIEVE

Sophia McLachlan originally from Dorset, runs a charity that reaches the marginalised in Kenya

WHAT DO YOU DO? TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR LIFE

My family and I have a charity called Awaken Love for Africa, based in Dorset. been there ever since. have worked closely with the Gideons Orphanage in Kenya for the past five years. There are I53 children that live there plus there is a primary and secondary school on site which is open to the whole community. I was planning to go to university when I left school but God opened a door to go to Kenya and my heart has been there ever since. I had a desire to change poverty and bring the love of God to hopeless people. I gave up all my plans and God met me in Kenya in a mighty way.

WHO INTRODUCED YOU TO JESUS?

I was raised in a family that loves Jesus BUT THE Lord showed me himself to me personally when I was 18. he showed me the sufferings that he went through because he love me. It changed my life forever and set a passion in my heart to serve Him and bring Him glory.

HAS YOUR FAITH CHANGED THE WAY YOU TREAT OTHERS?

Yes, I have more love for the broken, the lost, the proud and the sinner . . . I have learnt to love people in a new way. Living in Kenya has opened my eyes to see things differently.

WHY DO YOU BELIEVE?

I believe because my life depends on it. i can’t think, breathe, love or move without God. His precious blood is the only thing that can save me from eternal hell. Living in Africa makes you believe more as your whole life depends on Him.

DO YOU EVER DOUBT GOD‘?

When God gives you dreams and visions, you should never doubt him — no matter how long it might take to come to pass. God’s thoughts and plans are higher than children in Kenya ours! We should never doubt no matter the time it takes.
Our children in Kenya had no money for food one night but really wanted to eat rice. They asked God to provide for them, so they lit the fire and sat and prayed for rice. They prayed for hours until the fire had gone out. Then an old mama from the village walked in, saying the Lord told her to bring rice. The children were so happy as their prayers had been answered. Never doubt God, ever! Exercise faith in your BIG God.

IF YOU COULD SUM UP YOUR EXPERIENCE OF BEING A CHRISTIAN IN ONE SENTENCE, WHAT WOULD IT BE‘?

It is all about Jesus Christ and his precious blood that was shed for us — I live to bring Him glory. ‘

IMG_2283

Leave a Reply

