womens’ page

janine parkinson

Janine Parkinson
WHY I BELIEVE

Janine Parkinson is a neonatal nurse, wife and mum from Sheffield…

HOW DID YOU BECOME A CHRISTIAN, AND A NURSE‘?

I’ve not always been a Christian, and I gave my life to the Lord when I was 19 after a difficult childhood, rebellious teen-age years and a number of events.
I’ve not always been a nurse in my working life, either. I left school with few GCSEs and little drive, but after I married in 2005 I went to college for three years to get my qualifications for university. Then, after a further three years at university and a year out to my have my daughter, I finally qualified.

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH GOD?

My relationship with God changes as anyone’s does, but he has touched my heart and changed my life so much that I can’t deny him.
I hear God a lot in the little things of life. I often get a real feeling that I have to do something that l just can’t shake, and it won’t leave me until I’ve actioned whatever it is.

My heart has always been to bind up the broken hearted and help them to live in freedom. I’ve always felt I’d like to start a clinic for children and families in a place where people don’t have the same access to medical care like we have here in the UK. This is the main reason why I went into nursing and I’m hoping that this will be the next chapter of my life.

WHERE DO YOU LOOK FOR HELP AS A CHRISTIAN?

Throughout my Christian life, the one thing that has shaped my walk with God is the verse in Matthew 6:33, which says, “Seek first the kingdom of God and the rest will be added unto you.” I have found this to be so true and whenever I battle for something I try to remind myself that I’m not on this earth for my earthly desires.

Another thing that has helped me in my walk with God is the Holy Spirit. I once went on mission to Africa with a powerful woman of God named Pauline Edwards, and she always said, “Keep speaking in tongues in every situation.” As the Bible says, this ‘edifies the soul’, and I’ve found it to be true in so many
ways. So now, whenever something is bothering me or I need to pray hard about something, locking myself away for half an hour and speaking in tongues really helps.

HAVE YOU HAD ANY DOUBTS ABOUT GOD?

As a nurse I find myself in many situations that test my faith and shake my very existence, but my faith has actually got stronger through being exposed to these things. I have learned that being able to trust God no matter what is an absolute must.IMG_2256

Leave a Reply

