pastor’s weekly thought

ianwilliams

Rev. Ian Williams

BUT GOD

Robin Hart

Almost daily we are all confronted with actual or potential chaos, difficulties, unexpected situations, calamities, disaster, attack. As a Christian I am confronted with ever present danger at every turn. And this can bring disorder into my life, into my thinking, particularly if it seems relentless. But I serve a God who is able to bring order into my disorder and who is able to transform any situation I go through.

When I am in the midst of a challenge to all I believe I need to recognise that my God is:

OMNIPOTENT: all powerful. Whatever I go through, my God is sovereign. Nothing is too difficult for Him. Nothing. I am never too remote or too hidden for Him to act. I am never in too desperate a situation. I am never too far away, even if I feel I am, or others mislead me by telling me I am.

OMNISCIENT: all knowing. My God is past, present and future. Therefore He knows all about my past, present and future. He has full understanding and perfect knowledge. So when I am confused, when I don’t know which way to turn, He does. God knows and understands what you are going through, because He has already been there.

OMNIPRESENT: always present. My God is not limited my time or space. He has been, is and always will be there for me. He will not let me down. He will not desert me. God stands with me in all seasons, in all places.

The two words ‘but God’ changes everything. My situation, all I understand, my future.

I can feel under attack, but God will protect me.
I can feel isolated, but God is always with me.
I can feel abused, but God can bring healing.
I can feel trapped, but God always provides a means of escape.
I can feel lost, but God will guide me.

We all need ‘but God’ moments in our lives on a daily basis. With my God’s help I can overcome. My God is greater and stronger than any situation I find myself in. Look for your ‘but God’ moments this week and stand on His word in them and through them.

Bible references: Psalm 139:13-16, Genesis 1:1, Revelations 22:13, Psalm 118:9, 1 John 1:5, 1 John 4:17, Hebrews 12:29, Psalm 19:3, Hebrews 13:8, 1 John 4:4

orange tree

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

